Tags

, , , , ,


(so what if this looks more like a mcdonald’s pie…)

A lot of people I know assume that because I bake all the time that I don’t harbor any warm feelings towards prepackaged manufactured goods…. Oh I do. I can ecstatically devour a bag of pizza rolls in five minutes. You know those little cream puffs in the freezer section, I believe they’re called… pure bliss. Or sara lee, something like that. And poptarts? Hah, I grew up on these guys. I remember being particularly fond of the brown sugar and cinnamon for a while, eating them straight out of the package untoasted. I subsided off the strawberry flavored poptarts (and cool ranch doritos of course) through highschool,  relying on the icing and those little pink granules of sugar to get me through first period (and then crash by second or third period) Mmm never mind that the actual crust tasted like cardboard and burned so easily; for me it was the jelly like filling, and there was never enough. Anyways, now that I’ve pretty much turned off any foodie reading this and have shamelessly promoted tyrannical food tycoons — I present to you…. Homemade breakfast pastries! That can be made ahead and put in the freezer and then toasted at a later time (if you can resist their temptation, sadly I couldn’t…) You can add as much filling as you please; mine were practically busting at the seems so….  And the crust. wow. No offense poptarts but the breakfast pastries weenz, hands down. You can smell the butter seeping out from the flaky layers of epic winnage. Taste… Well let’s just say I had these a few days ago and my tongue is tingling with a pleasant reminiscing. It probably helps that I also made the raspberry jam filling (not to be a snob but I haven’t had a commercial jam that comes close to touching a home brewed one) It’s a great breakfast foodstuff… I was definately wide awake from the party my senses were having.

Recipe from smitten kitchen

Pastry
1 1/2 cups (6 1/4 oz) all-purpose flour

1/2 cup (2 1/4 oz) whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks/8 oz) unsalted butter cubed
1 large egg
2 Tbs (1 oz) milks

1 beaten egg (seperated; for gluing the pastries together)

Cut butter up into 1 inch cubes. In a food processor or a bowl put the dry ingredients in and whisk/pulse until evenly dispersed. Add butter and pulse for about six seconds or with hands/pastry cutter until the butter is “pea sized” and the dough holds together slightly when pinched. If you used a food processor at this point put the dough in a bowl and mix egg and milk into the dough. Knead until the dough comes together (it should come together quickly; it will be sticky) Divide the dough into two. wrap them up and keep them in the fridge until using (up to two days) For forming the pastries, roll out the dough and cut to desire shape and size (having two of each same size to put together) Brush the beaten egg on the dough; add filling and sandwich the pastry together. Use your fingers to seal, or the tines of a fork for a nicer look. Put pastries on a baking sheet and refrigerate while the oven is preheated to 350 degrees. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Photo walk through

making the dough;

cube the butter

blend the dry ingredients together and then add the butter, pulse for 6 seconds at most or mix by hand until it looks like this

Put it in a bowl (if using the food processer). Add the egg and milk and combine.

Knead until it comes together; divide into two and wrap up to put in fridge

Putting the pastries together

Roll out the dough

Cut to desired proportions, shapes, etc.. countless possibilities

Add egg wash (the “glue” that will make the pastry stay stuck together while cooking) and the add your filling

Put your pastries together, the tops on the bottoms and seal (you can use your fingers, I did that and used the tines of a fork to make it look pretty) Put on a baking sheet and poke holes in them so the steam can escape.

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until they appear golden brown. (or you can freeze them for later)

P.s I’m going to include the raspberry jam recipe I usually follow because it’s easy and yummy
225 g (2 cups) frozen raspberries

50 g (1/4 cup) cane sugar

few drops of lemon juice

cook the sugar/berries together, put on a low boil for a few minutes, and then keep it on simmer; add the lemon juice. I usually let it simmer for a while (30 mins, possibly longer) stirring occasionally until it thickens. I let it cool out on the counter and then put it in the fridge overnight and use it the next day (it’s generally better because the flavors have mingled and the tartness is usually softer)

