Tags

, , ,


One of my coworkers asked me to suggest a greek food to her for a class assignment; most of the popular foods were taken already, so I had to do some research and found this hidden jewel. I’ve been to greek festivals almost every year from what I remember and from what I remember (besides all the dancing, jewelry and opas) the savory food was delicious but the sweets, to me, were almost always cloyingly sweet and tacky. Galatopita (pronounced gal-ah-toe-peeta) is the exception.

Why is it so awesome?

1. it does not require a pie crust, it makes it’s own shell. (this one should count for atleast five)

2. the batter tastes awesome

3. cooked, it tastes awesome

4. it’s the least time and energy consuming pie I’ve made

5. it dresses up well

6. it’s unique

So the texture of the pie is peculiar but delicious. The closest thing my brain can relate it to is tres leches but it’s not. I can’t eat the tres leches because the texture turns me off. (even though the taste is so delicious) This one is slightly similar in crumb, but it feels right for some reason. The pie is different sitting on the counter for a few hours cooling than after it sits in the fridge overnight. Very different… It does some magical things (forgive me, not feeling very articulate today) and the puddingesque texture becomes a fine crumbed tender cake. It’s just weird, but in a good way.

The Recipe

Notes: when thickening the mixture, I whisked until it coated the back of a spoon and left lingering trail marks. I tempered my eggs and batter though it didn’t call for it. I took my pie about an hour 10 mins baking in a ceramic dish. Next time I would consider a variation of the recipe with vanilla, cinnamon and/or lemon zest.

