I thought these were awesome when I first saw the picture. Now I hate them. If you’re in the mood to be irritated, make these repeatedly. However, this may only apply to people that don’t know what they’re doing (like myself). For best results, be sure to forget to add a portion of the main ingredients. Yeah, yeah. Well, anyways, I made these for 2 days straight. When I had final gotten the perfect example I was looking for, I got sloppy, started to mass produce batter and forgot to put the cookie in the barbed wire display case. Needless to say, my cousin ate it. Bastard.

 

img0000882

 

img000094

 

img000104

Unfortunately I don’t have a digital camera, so all of my pictures are from my laptop cam. But it is a pretty decent camera for a laptop… Anywho, If anyone reading this cares to make these here is the recipe I was following –

Brandy snaps:

3 oz/6 tbs butter, diced

3 oz/scant 1/2 cup granulated sugar

45 ml/3 tbsp light corn syrup

3 oz/ 2/3 cup all purpose flour (it calls for all purpose but I like pastry flour, I just added a bit more liquid to the recipe)

5ml/1 tsp ginger

30ml/2 tbsp brandy

15/1 tbsp lemon juice

For the chocolate baskets, you use 21/2 oz/9 tbs flour and 30ml/2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder. I omitted the ginger and only put 1 tbsp brandy and less than 1 tbsp lemon juice.  They are a lot greasier… I’d say using parchment paper is the way to go in this case.

Preheat oven to 350 (it says 370 in book, but in my oven they survived better at 350)

Line baking sheets with parchment paper (In the book there is an option to grease the pan as well *g*…)

Heat the butter, sugar and corn syrup over a low heat, stirring occasionally. The liquid should look smooth and ingredients relatively incorporated.

Remove the pan from heat. (I’d suggest transferring the liquid to a different container because the pans hold heat) The liquid needs to be room temp before incorporating the flour or it will start to bake.

Sift the dry ingredients into the butter mix, along with the brandy and lemon juice.

Leave for 2 minutes to let flour absorb moisture.

Drop mix onto baking sheet in tsp/tablespoonfuls. I used about 3/4 tbs of mixture for each basket, and spread the mix out a little bit on the pan so it would cook more evenly. I could only fit 2 per sheet.

The book says to bake for 8-10 minutes, or bubbly, lacy in texture and golden brown.

Leave them on the pan for a moment or so to help them keep their shape together, (something that you have to get a feel for) if you remove them too early they fall apart, too late and they are too stiff to shape into baskets. I noticed the chocolate brandy snaps take longer to get their shape, maybe because they are greasier. Make sure you move them with a metal spatula. If you let them sit too long you can put them back in the oven for a few seconds, and they will soften up.

You can shape them over ramekins, cup bottoms, little bowls, etcetera. Lightly press folds into the cookie with fingers. (Hah, easier said than done)

This recipe was from The complete book of cookies, by Catherine atkinson.

Anyways, when I get a camera, I might take step by step instruction pictures.. One day…

Oh and, that is chocolate mousse in the baskets if you were wondering.

